Cost of doing taxes for those with a small business?

ndemge

Commander
Those of you that own a business,,,, do you do your own taxes, or pay someone?<br /><br />This is my first year owning a business, LLC...<br />Reading everything that has to be filed, deductions for % of home used for business, seems pretty complicated, and I'm afraid I'll miss something or not dudcut something I should have.<br /><br />For those that pay someone, do you just go to an H&R type place, or have an accountant you hire?<br /><br />Total profit for the business after expenses, tools etc this year is less than $1,000, just want to make sure I do it all right.

Dunaruna

Admiral
Re: Cost of doing taxes for those with a small business?

My wife and I do the everyday stuff using MYOB. We then upload the company file to our accountant and he does all the complicated stuff. My understanding is that its mostly computer programs that do the final assessment. He charges us about a grand a year, its deductable.<br /><br />Small business needs to be 'creative' to survive. For example: I've just had new alloy pontoons made for my houseboat - it was billed to my business as a new tray for the work truck - deductable :p <br /><br />Aldo

spratt

Lieutenant

Originally posted by Dunaruna:<br />Small business needs to be 'creative' to survive. For example: I've just had new alloy pontoons made for my houseboat - it was billed to my business as a new tray for the work truck - deductable :p Aldo
I 'spose you can't be much more creative than that:) Pontoons on a truck...not bad!! BTW, I work for the IRS, and I will be over in a couple hours to see those new "trays"...have dinner ready! Bribes never hurt!! :D

spratt

Lieutenant

uncle_sam_taking_advantage_of_taxpayer_sm_wm.gif
<br /><br />Thsi s what happens next!!!

Dunaruna

Admiral

OMG!<br /><br />Me thinks you in trouble with that one.

spratt

Lieutenant

Sheesh...you mean you think I will get mah 1st POOOOOOOOOOF???

jtexas

Fleet Admiral