Complete newbie questions on ski's

scb1712

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi all,

As the boating season is quickly approaching, my wife and I are excited about learning to ski. But i have several questions about what is the best gear for us. Our hope is that we'll be able to do some basic slalom by the end of the summer.

Question 1: I'm about 5'10 and 180lb and my wife is 5'4 and about 130lb. Would a pair of 67 combo's be reasonable for us both to learn on or will they be too short for me/to long for my wife?

Question 2: What style of ski's?? I've seen some combo's that i would call "traditional" shaped (not too wide at the tip and taper all the way back) versus the newer "spoon" shaped ones (quite wide at the front, narrow in the middle and slightly wider at the tail). Which ones would be our best bet??

Question 3: Lace-up bindings vs. non-lace up. I've read that the lace-up style offer much better support which would probably be good for both of us, but don't know for sure.

Thanks in advance!!

oldjeep

Admiral
Re: Complete newbie questions on ski's

1) They would be fine. We've got a set of 67 combos and they are controllable for my wife who is about the same size 5ft 2 and 125? (some questions you shouldn't ask) I'm 185 and can get up on them holding a 40lb child.

2) I like the traditional, our kiddie skis are shaped and they just seem to ski goofy to me. I only use them when I'm taking kids up for fun, skiing on 2 always seems harder than 1 ;)

3) I personally prefer the sandle style bindings on combo skis - easier to fit a variety of foot sizes (my size 10 mens and my wifes size 5.5 womens). Ours are HO combos with the Helix bindings
I think these are the current model of what we've got.
http://www.bartswatersports.com/cat...HO_Blast_Combo_With_Helix_HH2C22_67/index.asp

haulnazz15

Captain