Cinderblocks - Under Tongue or Jack???

I am new to boating and have my boat on my tandem trailer in my driveway. I have a couple of questions regarding the trailer.

I was told that I need to place the boat trailer jack on cinderblocks because the trailer is not designed to stay long periods of time on the jack/wheel. Maybe its my inexperience but my question is that if I put it on cinder blocks, there is still weight on the jack/wheels. Is there a difference in the amount of weight on the jack and wheel? Another person told me I need to place the tongue on cinder blocks and place the wheel up as if I was trailering it. I don't know which one is correct.

I also noticed that I have a leak or may need a new tire on the trailer. Is it safe to jack a trailer with the boat on it?

Any help would be great. Sorry if these questions are on here already - couldn't find them.

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Cinderblocks - Under Tongue or Jack???

Leave the tongue on the jack. Whoever gave you that line of BS hasn't ever owned a trailer. The only way I could possibly see a problem is if the jack and/or wheel are lightweight and not rated for your tongue weight. But I doubt even that. Yes, you can jack up the trailer with the boat still on it with no worries.

Welcome to iboats, BTW...

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

use a sissor jack under the axle, as close to the wheel as you can get it. i like to connect to tow vehicle, that way you do not risk shifting. as long as the jack, raise the bow high enough, that water drain out the transom drain, i use the jack. if the jack is too short, find something else to get the bow high enough. on my small boat i use a 4 foot ladder.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner