Chantix and quitting smoking - Who's used it?

valkyr

Chief Petty Officer
Been a week now on my 401100th :)D) try...

I'm on it now and its really helping with the cigs, but jeez these symptoms aren't making it pleasant:

Nervousness - Hands constantly shaking. Been off cigarettes for about a week, so I don't imagine its withdrawl. Its like an alcoholic going through withdrawl though.

Nausea - General sick feeling in the mornings and evenings after I take the medicine. Was this drug invented by women? Did they want everyone to know what morning sickness is like or what??

Dreams - man the dreams and some insomnia are unreal. The insomnia is not too bad, the dreams are amazing. I think I'm actually sleeping better though with the dreams. I don't seem to be sleeping so deeply.

What have you guys/gals thought about Chantix?

Tyme2fish

Commander
Re: Chantix and quitting smoking - Who's used it?

This answer will surprise some long time members.

I am a Pharmacist.This is the first time ever on this forum I've stated what I do for a living.

I started Chantix in April 2007 after smoking for over 40 years. I haven't smoked since. I tried patches,Wellbutrin,Hypnocist,and all the smoke and mirrors remedies before taking Chantix.
Yes, the dreams were strange but I did not have any nausea or any other unpleasant side affects.
To help a 40 year smoker quit, I endorse Chantix as their new poster boy!!!

valkyr

Chief Petty Officer

Interesting, I just found this (just as a side note and something to keep in mind) if you're taking it:

Additional Side Affects:
http://www.rxlist.com/cgi/generic/chantix.htm

Page 3 halfway down (I'll list the frequent ones here):
GASTROINTESTINAL DISORDERS Frequent: Diarrhea, Gingivitis.

GENERAL DISORDERS AND ADMINISTRATION SITE CONDITIONS. Frequent: Chest pain, Influenza like illness, Edema, Thirst.

INVESTIGATIONS. Frequent: Liver function test abnormal, Weight increased.