cathedral hull

limeyboater

Cadet
Hi Gents<br /> great forum :) , im new to boating and have had loads of questions answered through browsing the posts, could anybody tell me if a cathedral hull is displacement or plaining ? I think i know the answer, and probs got too small an engine yam 25 on 18 ft boat(fuel is a big issue over here and im a lowly tinbasher :D ). what do you guys think?

D

DJ

Re: cathedral hull

It should be planing.<br /><br />A 25 on an 18 ft. boat might not provide the power to plane it though.<br /><br />A "lugging" 25 will use more fuel than an efficiently running 70.

umblecumbuz

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Hi Limey,<br /><br />What DJ says ...<br /><br />Just now and then, when I can't think fast enough to make an excuse, I carry a couple of old folks around for a peek at the creeks and inlets hereabouts. We don't plane, because they don't like it 'bumpy'. We just potter.<br /><br />Normally, I'm howling everywhere on the plane as quickly as possible.<br /><br />I can watch the fuel guage sink to zero faster with them on board than I ever could with me gunning it!

bayman

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Yep, it's so much more efficient to just push a boat around. Pushing tons of water and a boat ...not so good.

b.gagnon

Master Chief Petty Officer

I had an 18' boat and the mfg said no less than 80hp to plain, but that was a v-hull. I dont know if that would apply here.

limeyboater

Cadet

thanks fellahs, thought as much....looks like im gonna have to push water about till i can find some money, anyone wanna buy 4 kids !!! what hp do you think i,ll need. I know weight comes into it but frankly i have no idea what weight the boat is (its been in the water all the time since i got it).

CATransplant

Admiral