catching mahi mahi

MOTguy

Cadet
I am new to fishing and would like some pointers on catching dolphin. I am hesitant to use live bait and would prefer lures or skirts. Would appreciate any input or success stories.

krosemond

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: catching mahi mahi

Hey Motguy, where you are fishing is this most important thing! Dolphin (Mahi Mahi) come in two classes, gaffers and chickens. The gaffers are larger and can be found in pairs, usually the bull(male with the square head) and the cow. You can catch them on the troll using dead baits (ballyhoo) with a skirt or sea witch in front, skipped across the surface. Use 20# or 30# outfits. Zuker's tuna lures work well with a faster troll. I like green and yellow for bright days, black and purple for overcast days, for both lures and deadbait skirts.<br /><br />Look for weedlines or other floating debris, somewhere near where the green inshore water meets the blue offshore water (and beyond). Again, that depends on where you are fishing. I fish the NC coast, but spent 10 years in Stuart, FL. If you find any substantial weed line or floating logs, pallets or any flotsam, look closely underneath for signs of small school dolphin. You can chum them right up to the boat using chunks of bonita (Little Tunny). Always keep one hooked fish in the water and they will hang around til you can catch them all (but only keep what you can use). Sometimes if you start blind chumming a large patch of weeds, you can flush out the schoolies. Catch 'em on 6lb spinning rods for lots of fun. <br /><br />Lots of luck. Let me know where you are planning to fish, and if I have fished there, I will give you an idea of where to start looking.

MOTguy

Cadet