Carburetor Repair Thoughts

CBOATNAZ

Recruit
I have (2) older Evinrude engines. First, a 1978 70hp, and second a 1975 135hp. I have done carb rebuilds on both of these engines. One thing that I have not seen discussed on here is throttle shaft wear. I found out through testing that excessive wear can cause a lean condition. The 70hp had about .02-.03" wear on both shafts. A common repair is to enlarge the idle jet size a few sizes to remedy the extra air entering. The 135 had about .015-.02" wear on the throttle shafts. Being a machinist, I machined o-ring grooves into the carburetor body to seal the shaft to the housing. This repair has solved several issues. One test that I learned from a senior mechanic is to apply heavy grease around the exterior throttle shafts to "seal" them to the carb body. Also, it is my opinion that this might be an overlooked issue being the return springs are on the shaft and don't allow them to flop around during a rebuild. I am interested in hearing everyone's thoughts. Please comment!

Pontoon Don

Recruit
Found your thoughts interesting. I am presently trying to discover why my 92 48spl won't operate above mid throttle. If I block the throat of the lower carb with my thumb, i can reach a sustainable WOT. Otherwise the carb runs so lean as to make the engine just die out. After reading your post I wriggled the throttle plate shaft and found what I would call excessive play - meaning I could feel and see the side to side movement. In your opinion, would airflow past the shaft be able to cause that symptom?

Faztbullet

Supreme Mariner
Shaft is not the problem with your 48.. Either you don't have enough fuel pressure, high speed jet is clogged or loose, float level is to low

Pontoon Don

Recruit