Carb rebulid-Core plug question

Ok 1980 70 horse Rude that runs great at high end but dosent want to idle anything less than 1100 RPM and floods out the carbs Decided to rebuild all 3 carbs so got the kits here and have pulled carbs off Getting ready to soak them overnite but was wondering on whether or not I need to pull core plugs when I soak them There are new plugs in the carb kits but checked my service manual and it says to remove if neccasary Kinda uncomfortable with the thought of prying them out if not needed as I am kind of new at all this So do I really need to pull them or not? They arent leaking and have read here no real need if not leaking Wondering what the popular consensus was Thanks in advance for your time!

mikesea

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Carb rebulid-Core plug question

did alot of carbs and only when loose did i change them,i know others suggest changing,but,i never had a problem from not changing them as long as i cleaned the carb well,soaking and compressed air,i usually use hot soapy water after the solution,then garden hose rinse then air,i also use spray carb cleaner into all holes and passages,overkill ,maybe,but no repeats here

jtexas

Fleet Admiral

If the carb's really dirty then do it for sure. Downside to not doing it is doing it all over again if it doesn't run right when you're done.

I usually pass on it myself.

But there's no need to be bashful about popping 'em out.

F_R

Supreme Mariner

If the carb's really dirty then do it for sure. Downside to not doing it is doing it all over again if it doesn't run right when you're done.

I usually pass on it myself.

But there's no need to be bashful about popping 'em out.

The idle ports are under those plugs, a good reason to take a look, since you are having idle problems. However, having said that, they don't usually get dirty. It's your call. Um, you said it floods out---do you mean that literally? Plugged idle ports wouldn't cause flooding, they would cause a lean condition.