Carb issues

jeremiah89

Cadet
I have a 1991 Renken Seamaster 2688 with a 5.7 OMC snd a Holley Carb. The issue i am having is at high speeds for awhile it'll fall on its face no power barely moving barley idling popping and though the carb and eventually the engine stalls. There is usually smoking coming out of the carb when this happens, if you let it sit for 5 or 10 minutes it's fine for a little while. I also have to hold the throttle wide open to get it to fire and it takes about 5 to 10 seconds. Once you get it running you have to hurry up and drop it back to neutral and throw it in gear it'll stall. Trying to park in a slip is nearly impossible because from Drive to Reverse it'll stall alot. Sounds like a carb issue to me not sure though. Thanks for the help

Lou C

Supreme Mariner
You may have sticking floats or a blown power valve, there are like a gazillion vids on how to rebuild Holley carbs out there, it's basically a 3 piece unit with the center throttle body, and the 2 float bowls some have a metering block on the front bowl only (4160 style) and a metering plate on the back bowl, some have metering blocks on both (4150 style). There are build numbers on the air horn that you can use to look up which Holley kit you will need, the main thing with carb rebuilds is always the cleaning, soak in chemical cleaner (careful!!) and blow out all the passages, air bleeds and jets. Replace all gaskets, the float seats and needle valves, measure float drop, and install a new power valve of the correct rating. The air horn is where the choke flap is attached you will find the build #s there. Go on to www.holley.com
for more info...
here's a 4160

Attachments

• IMG_2360.JPG
    IMG_2360.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 5
  • IMG_2361.JPG
    IMG_2361.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 5

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member