brand new Lund with wet transom

Status
Not open for further replies.

nwangler

Recruit
I just bought a brand new 2016 Lund SSV 14. Immediately after drilling the transom to bolt on the outboard, water ran out of the holes. The dealer tells me that's not a problem, because the transom cap is not meant to be watertight and water inside the aluminum transom skin is not unusual or cause for concern. He insists the wood is treated and will not rot. The boat was stored outside in the rain at the dealer.
I'm no boat expert and this is my first boat purchase, but I'm still having trouble accepting a brand new boat that already has a wet transom. Is this acceptable? Is it a serious design flaw even in the respected Lund brand?

hosteter

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am a carpenter.belive me you can not tread a wood not to rot.cant belive that in new boat is water in transom.it must be water tight.in every case the wood starts to rot wen there is moisture and water.you must seal the holes where you bolt the motor on.everithing must be water tight.i just replaced my transom.the plywood fall apart .

jbcurt00

Staff member
Cost is a major factor in why not composite.

Nwangler, any feedback from Lund about your NEW Lunds wet transom?

Last edited by a moderator:

cooterdude

Seaman Apprentice
your transom will rot and fall apart i have a 98 18ft adventurer with the same problem im going to pull the motor off of it and replace the wood with solid surface counter-top material sourced from my local habitat for humanity re store found a 10 ft long 21/2 inch thick piece of Corian for 20 bucks

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
im going to pull the motor off of it and replace the wood with solid surface counter-top material sourced from my local habitat for humanity re store found a 10 ft long 21/2 inch thick piece of Corian for 20 bucks

A transom needs more than just compressive strength. It needs a lot of strength from end to end also. I don't see Corian having that.

titaniumneck