Boat swaying when anchored

Fullspectrum

Seaman Apprentice
I'm fairly new to anchoring, don't do it much, so I did my search on here and learned quite a bit.

I have a 16 ft aluminum v-hull boat. I have a 22 lb anchor at the bow. A 15 lb (I think) in the back on a winch setup.

I want to know is that, by properly anchoring from the bow with one or two anchors (depending on water/weather conditions) should that prevent the back end of the boat to sway side to side (bow pointed into the wind/waves)...or...do I have to drop an anchor from the back to keep the back end in place?

Also, from what I've read...anchoring from the stern is a "no/no." In what conditions is it okay to do so?

Thanks!

JoLin

Vice Admiral
Re: Boat swaying when anchored

Anchors off bow and stern will stop your sway, as will 2 anchors off the bow in a "V" configuration. No configuration will keep your boat from some amount of movement. When wind and current direction change, your boat will take a different "set".

In close quarters with other anchored boats, you want to use the same configuration as the boats around you. If they're using a single anchor off the bow, you'll want to do the same so that all the boats swing in roughly the same arc to prevent collision. If they're anchored so they won't sway, you'd do the same so your boat doesn't swing into theirs.

Offhand, I can't think of a situation where I'd anchor solely off the stern. Too much chance of taking a wave over the stern and potentially swamping the boat. Others may have a different opinion on that.

Have fun!

scubadoo73

Seaman Apprentice

I have never in 23 years of boating have I every come across a situation in anchoring the stern only as stated above there is too much risk in taking a wave over the stern always anchor with bow into the wind or close to it

Mark42

Fleet Admiral