Boat Repair Costs - Fair?

pec2402

Seaman Apprentice
I could have posted this under Volvo engine as well, but thought it would have more relevance in general. I have a 2004 Larson SEI 4.3GL Volvo Penta I/O. I dropped the boat off at the local mechanic last week after removing from storage. He charges an hour of labor to "de-winterize/tune up" the boat for the season. After checking out the boat, I decided to have him replace the impeller (which is on the engine for the Volvo) and the tach also needs replaced (wiring is good, just the tach). It is going to cost around $490 for everything. I completely trust this guy but I am new to boating and just want other opinions. I realize that i would save at least half the amount if I could do my own labor, but I'm not very handy, especially with a boat.

I'm estimating the following - $175 parts, $300 labor (@ 4 hours, $75/hr).

Does this sound right? Thanks for your opinions.

superpop

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: Boat Repair Costs - Fair?

Depends on what is involved with the tune up. If it is just changing the oil then your guess is probably pretty close. Drive service, oil change, new plugs, set timing, check alignment, etc could be closer to a grand for all the work.

pec2402

Seaman Apprentice

Depends on what is involved with the tune up. If it is just changing the oil then your guess is probably pretty close. Drive service, oil change, new plugs, set timing, check alignment, etc could be closer to a grand for all the work.

Superpop - sorry, i was a bit unclear. The actual cost is $490 that he quoted. My estimate is how he is itemizing things. The $490 is for the 1 hr of labor to basically go over the boat and make sure everything looks good for the season and top off my gear oil, which was low (i changed all the oils/filter in the fall) + labor/parts to replace the impeller and tachometer.

paultjohnson

Lieutenant Commander