boat opinion

stepj19

Recruit
i wasnt sure what section to post this in. i am just getting into boating and am looking to purchase. i have found three boats that i like but need the opinions of more experienced boaters. my choces are

1988 16' Thunder Craft Regency 162 w/120hp in/out board

1990 19 Ft. Glassport. 350 Mercruiser

1983 Renken 16' Power Boat, Model 650, w/Volvo 270 Inboard/Outboard 4 cylinder Motor, trailer

i like the design of the first and third ones because of open bow. however i want to make the desicion based on reliability. all boats are priced very closely. so in short which boat/engine combination is better. thanks

stonyloam

Vice Admiral
Re: boat opinion

#1, if the outdrive is a Mercruiser, and if the QUALIFIED marine mechanic that you hire to check it over says that it (boat, motor and outdrive) are OK. Welcome to Waterworld:D!

WizeOne

Commander

Depending on what you want to do with it as to how you should choose. From my viewpoint the middle boat has three advantages over the 1st and 3rd. They are age, size and power.

Open bows are nice (I wish I had one) but many a people have bought boats and wished they were bigger and had more power. People on this very forum are always asking how the can squeeze more power out of the dinky little motors.

Why we even have one guy here who didn't like the length of his boat so he took a chainsaw to it and proceeded to add 4 or so feet to the middle of it. What a crazy guy!:eek::D

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=234392

bigskiohio

Master Chief Petty Officer

#1 just fine for now but you will want more later
#2 if in good shape is the perfect boat for small lakes and rivers
#3 470s scare me read up on them and it aint big enough or fast enough

cooter2506

Senior Chief Petty Officer