Boat loads crooked on all-roller trailer

bowhuntrrl

Petty Officer 1st Class
I have a 16' SportCraft CC and an EZ Loader trailer that did not come with the boat. I adjusted the trailer to fit the boat, but we are having a problem. Every time we load, the boat loads off to one side. The only problem that I can find is that the 4 roller sets in the back are a bit stiff to pivot. Could this be causing my problem ??? I have plans to replace the pivot bolts to loosen things up, but just wondering if this is the answer.

1730V

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Boat loads crooked on all-roller trailer

Typically, loading issues are due to backing the trailer too far into the water.

rheagler

Senior Chief Petty Officer

I'm no expert but through trial & error I have found that if I back the trailer into the water so that the rear rollers are almost under water, the boat centers itself very nicely. Any deeper and it tends to go on crooked. Boat is 15', 1983 Glassmaster, LoadRite roller trailer.

j442w30

Petty Officer 1st Class

Does the trailer have guide on posts on either side to help center the boat when you're loading it back on the trailer? If not, these can easily be made from PVC pipe. These make things a lot easier to get the boat on the trailer straight and could help your boat load more evenly on the trailer. Just a thought.

bowhuntrrl

Petty Officer 1st Class