Bilge Pump Selection/Installation

mtp9302

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all,

I am brand new to boating and this website, and I am writing to ask people more knowledgable than I about bilge pumps. I have to imagine I'm not the first to ask, but I did a search and didn't see exactly what I was looking for so I apologize if I missed something. I also saw a lot about bilge pumps in this forum so I thought it would be the right place, but please forgive me if it's not.

I just bought a 1985 Wellcraft 190 American, 19' with the 170 hp Mercruiser I/O. It has a dash switch for the bilge pump but does not work. Under the engine I found two Black Max 600 GPH pumps, both plumbed (looks to be 3/4" all the way out the side of the boat) and wired together in series. I'm guessing this is not right, but I'm only the new guy. The previous owner knew they didn't work, but he was comfortable with not having one because he only had the boat on the water when he went fishing during the day and trailered it otherwise (again not something I'm excitied about, maybe I just don't know enough).

Anyway, I've been reading articles on the web about how a boat of my size should have two pumps that add up to ~ 2500 GPH capacity and plumbed/wired completely independently. Most articles seem to suggest an automatic, smaller capacity primary pump and a larger capacity, manually activated secondary that is higher in elevation. Articles like these I find from web searches are forming my opinion:

http://www.yachtsurvey.com/bilge_pumps.htm

My first question is, does my understanding sound right for a boat like mine and/or is that what you guys do?