bilge pump in zodiac?

D44boy

Cadet
Hey guys,
I'm rather new to the zodiac/boating world, and I have a 11 foot Avon, with 6hp Johnson. My question is about about automatic bilge pumps. When I take my zodi out on the ocean, I usually get alot of spray into the boat and the water gathers quickly. I've been using a hand pump right now, but was thinking about an automatic bilge like a Rule. My interpretation is that they have to hook up to the boat battery. What if I have a pull start motor and no battery on board? Any options? I saw the solar battery bilges, but that seems a little iffy. I don't want to carry a full size battery on board.

CapeAnn

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: bilge pump in zodiac?

I use a hand held pump myself. I also periodically use the one-way drain at the transom to dump water when I don't have a full load of passengers. Having a heavy lead battery on board, running cable, placing a bilge pump and get hoses to transfer it over the side seems more work than just having someone on board periodically dump collected water? That said - electric bilge pumps sure are nice, but as crowded as it gets in the inflatable I have never had a situation where the manual pump didn't fit the bill.

likalar

Petty Officer 1st Class

I agree with CapeAnn about the hassles of a battery pump system. I would try to re-distribute the load so you get less spray coming into the boat. Also, experiment with bilge sponges that maybe easier to handle, while underway, than a pump. Also, you maybe able to adjust your speed and "angle of attack" into the chop in order to reduce the amount of splash coming aboard. But sometimes, it's just unavoidable. Good luck.

Larry

D44boy

Cadet

thanks for the input guys. Guess I'll stick with the hand pump, or maybe even cut a milk jug! Happy boating!

This might be a good thing for you easy and automatic nothing permant. i plan on getting one of these this year for my sailboat so i don't have to use a hang pump every rain storm.