Bearings

stauter99

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have a small galv. trailer that my 14' wooden skiff sits on. I need to replace the bearings but I dont know what size to get. Can someone help me. The tires are 14 or 14 inch I think. It is a magic trail. Thanks

ED21

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: Bearings

The best thing is to remove the existing bearings & take them to the store to get replacements.

stauter99

Petty Officer 2nd Class

This may sound dumb, but I have never done this before. How do I remove them. They are very rusty.<br />Thanks for your help.

ED21

Master Chief Petty Officer

It's good that you are figuring out the trailer bearings before the season starts. A little maintanence now goes a long way to make your trailering & boating experince fun. Those links are good info.

rickdb1boat

Supreme Mariner

And once you have the bearing in, get yourself some Buddy Bearing.<br /><br /> Buddy Bearings <br /><br />Make sure they come with the cover cap. Worth every penny!

stauter99

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Thanks, I will do it this weekned after I read up. Thanks again!

jsfinn

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I put bearing buddies on last season but I was unclear about one thing - do you fill them till grease starts coming out of the overfill hole?

stauter99

Petty Officer 2nd Class

What all should I buy to do a complete bearing job? Also what tools do I need?

jsfinn

Lieutenant Junior Grade