Bearing installed backward, is it possible?

cheers731

Petty Officer 3rd Class
This is my first time experience installing a disc brake kit from Kodiak and have posted a thread a few days ago on rotor not centered in relation to the caliper. After reading the articles at championtrailer web site, there is a warning on "do not install bearing backward". I can't remember how I installed the innerbearing on that wheel and was wondering if I had made that mistake. What will it look like if it's installed backward and what will happen?
I wish Kodiak has provided better istruction with the package.

Thanks,

Frank

raekmike

Seaman
Re: Bearing installed backward, is it possible?

I'm sure there just talking about putting the larger opening of the bearing side in first so it sits on the race proper. They've probably been sued over some goof ball putting the small side in first so the bearings don't roll...lol

My best guess. it's all pretty fool proof for 99% of us.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner

The bearings are tapered so there is no way that you installed them backwards.

The only way that the two could be out of alignment is if the mounting plate is not perpendicular to the axle shaft.

It?s perfectly normal for the pads on disc brakes to drag on the rotor somewhat. If you?ve not already done it, actuate the brakes several times and watch the pads. They should seat themselves in the first couple of actuations.

How much of a difference do you have front to back?

cheers731

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I will give the actuator a try tonight. I am replacing the whole brake system from actuator, brake lines, caliper/hub/disc rotor. The fitting came with the brake line does not fit, I have to get a short steel brake line from auto parts store and resume line installation tonight.

The outer pad catches theouter edge leaving about a quater inch mark on the rotor and a slight drag on wheel turn, not very severe.

Thanks again for all the responses.

Frank

RoyR