Battery charging/Regulator rectifier installation

Fishfinatic

Cadet
So I am looking to add a regulator rectifier to my Johnson 1990 30 hp J30RESS, I bought the motor this winter and have gone through most of it to factory specs with the manual. I want to add a regulator rectifier to charge the battery, however the manual shows a wiring diagram that is slightly different than what’s on my motor, I have a tan wire which hooks to the temp sensor, then a solid yellow, and a black and white which is the ac current output I believe if I’m not mistaken, then there are two black wires which go to the kill switch/ground in handle tiller, there are no instructions in the manual and I’m no electrician, I was gonna put my tester on it while running it to see output to get a better handle on what’s ac output(wires are like black coated almost paint or hardened dried on oil from over the yearsmaking it tricky to distinguish original color. I don’t have a starter on the motor it’s a rope start. Yamaha’s seem pretty easy, what additional things do I need for the Johnson aside from the flash coil under the fly wheel which it already comes with from what I understand on this model I believe.. has anyone fitted a tiller handle Johnson like this with a regulator rectifier?

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Are you sure you have the battery charging coils under the flywheel? The parts book says no. The battery charging coils are two coils on a common laminated core, and comes with electric start models. The other coil under there is for generating the electricity for the ignition system.

Fishfinatic

Cadet