Basic Engine Info Needed

Hello All:<br />As some of you may already know I am new to both this site, and boating. In a previous post i searched for help with an engine i have (9.9 evinrude 76' model) and with your help i am 95% sure that i have located the problem. I will soon be ordering the parts that i need to fix my engine but while i have it open i was wondering if there were other things i should work on and to resolve this issue i need more of an understanding of what these parts are and how they function. Please help with anything you can. Here goes: <br />1) I read in another post that changing the impeller in the water pump was a good preventive measure. Q: What is an impeller and can/should I change it while i'm at it?<br />2) How does the fuel pump work on 2 cylce engines and what are common problems with them?<br />3) Which gaskets should i be most concerned with (the engine had been sitting for 3 years or so when i bought it) and what kind of gasket kits are available that i should consider buying?<br />Once again, i'd like to take this opportunity to thank everyone on this site for helping each other and educating people like myself. Because of this site i now know 100 times more about engines than i did a week ago, but i still have a lot to learn. If you can help me with any of these please let the ideas/suggestions fly. Thanks guys.

Trent

Captain
Re: Basic Engine Info Needed