aq 171 c rebuild?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blkrider17

Cadet
Looking for advice im new to boating and I have a volvo penta aq 171 c and seems i cant find parts anywhere now i have a motor that has bent valves and needs a rebuild now I was wondering should i rebuild this motor and what would it cost? or should I go with a bigger motor (350) and where could I find a complete 350 and is this a hard task?

wellcraft19

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: aq 171 c rebuild?

The VP AQ 171C (or A) was Volvo Penta's last "real" Volvo engine based on a Volvo car engine (everything since is essentially based on GM blocks).
It is a GREAT engine when it runs, but due to limited number of engines out there, parts are hard(er) to find, and many times horribly expensive (I did not know this when I bought mine, but knock on wood, it's been running fine so far), compared to its simpler sibling, the VP AQ 151 (SOHC) or earlier engines.

The head, timing belt, tensioner, valves, water pump, ignition, are all unique to this engine. Very few automotive parts can be used. The exhaust manifold cost somewhere just south of $2,000, or more than a set of manifolds for a V6 or V8.

Short, it is a pricey little power plant (but was really a modern one when it came out, and sort of still is today with its DOHC and truly electronic ignition w/o points and preprogrammed set-points for different rpms). For its power, it is fairly fuel efficient.

Should I start over, I would likely look at a kit with a VP V8 or V6, or (of course) go with a diesel.

All that said, if you want some AQ171C information, I probably have a fair amount, and also lots of photos of both my set-up and a few over in Scandinavia (more of these engines there, but still not many...). Can of course share.

For 350 information, many here on iboats are true experts. They will chime in.

Last edited:

blkrider17

Cadet