Anchoring

wmteich

Seaman Apprentice
I am new to the larger boat thing, I have a 23 foot Chapparral bow rider, and I can not seem to get the anchor to hold. It is a "cleat" anchor that I am told should be fine with this boat.(It is actually the one it originally came with) As I find a spot I point the boat into the current and toss the anchor, then drift. I am told it should catch, but never does. Can anyone give me advice on how to stay anchored 20-30 feet off shore for swimming and such? Thanks

QC

Supreme Mariner
Re: Anchoring

There are some really good threads on anchoring and chain etc. etc. The first thing is I am not sure what a cleat style is. Most common are fluke or Danforth style.<br /><br /> http://www.iboats.com/products/3/40785_fluke_style_anchor.html <br /><br />If you mean what I call a Navy style anchor (looks like one from a big ship), then that might be the issue as they are not very good at digging in. I personally would use chain length equal to the length of your boat attached to a fluke style rated for your size boat. If you let out enough scope then it should hold in the situation you describe depending on the bottom. Scope is the total length of chain and line that you have let out, some say it needs to be at least 3 x depth or more, but I modify that depending on the conditions and the length of time I am planning to stay at anchor, the better hold I need the longer the scope.<br /><br />Here's is another thread, and of course a lot of opinions. I am defnitely a chain guy . . . Good luck!!<br /><br /> http://www.iboats.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=012494#000000

wmteich

Seaman Apprentice