adding a hitch to my van

FAC

Petty Officer 3rd Class
i am getting my first boat fairly soon and my van a '97 ford E-150 does not have the stuff to tow from the factory. What all would i need to get to pull a 15' fish/ski I am new to this so if there is any other information you would need just let me know and i will get it for you,

thanks,
Forrest

Eshaw150

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: adding a hitch to my van

reese hitch , wiring for lights, ball and ball mount, ball will either be 2inch or 1 7/8 depends on what the trailer uses and i think that thats it. I might be missing something but i think that thats it.

HAV2FISH

Chief Petty Officer

I don't think your new boat will weigh enough to justify getting a transmission cooler. But it would help. Have a hitch installed to the frame and i would also consider having heavy duty brakes installed the next time you need brakes. You will also need a wiring harness for trailer installed but they should be doing that when they install the hitch.

triumphrick

Lieutenant Commander

Most of those vans are ready for a bolt on hitch. You can buy one online or at the local Advance auto. It is a very easy install, not something you need to pay to have done. There are two different size receivers, 2" and 1 1/4" square solid draw bar. If you ever intend to move up and get a little bigger rig, you will probably need the 2" receiver. I would go ahead and get that one. You will need the draw bar and a wiring harness as previously mentioned, along with the proper size ball. Most of the wiring diagrams come with instructions. All of this is very doable if somewhat handy and if you have some basic tools. Good luck!

FAC

Petty Officer 3rd Class

thanks for telling me what i need, i was planning on doing it myself i do other maintenance on my cars so why not this.

woosterken

Lieutenant

check at your parts store there is a plug n play wire plug for the trailer lites.