Adding a 3rd battery?

Stud man

Cadet
Ok a little backround - I am new to boating and the boat is new to me and this will be our 1st year

I need some info on adding a 3rd battery -
I presently have 2 batterys on the boat, a #1 and #2 that are only a year old

I know that one should be used for starting the motor and the other is for the "house" or elec. stuf on the boat, ie radio, ref, lights ect...

I have a 1, 2 or both switch and the po told me to just leave it on both and I would be ok, that's what he did.

I am thinking that I would most likely leave it on both to start and run the boat but once I get to where I am going switch to say #2 while we are hanging (on the hook not at a dock) and then back to "both" to start and run home.

My biggest fear is to run the batterys dead and not be able to start the motor, so I had an idea

I have an extra car battery (not too old) laying around and figured that I could add it to say #2 battery and give myself double the capasity (sp) , I guess that would be adding it in "parallel". this way I would have the #1 for starting and the #2 ( which is actualy 2 batterys) for the house

Questions are
will this work? and or should I even bother?
will this hurt the system I already have?
will the alt be ok?
will the battery charger handle the third battery?
and what happens when I am on shore power?

Now I know from reading here that a car battery and a marine battery are not the same but for just added volume is it a big deal?
A buddy told me that the biggest draw on the batterys when the motor is not running is the REF.
I guess I could shut it off but that kind of defeats the purpose. We really love our music so I see running the radio all day.
Another thought I had was to just run the motor say for 5mins every hour or so just to charge up the batterys