a starting place to id a merc 115????

skeeterFever

Cadet
hi guys im new here, been reading for days......im stuck

i dont know were to begin to identify my engine..

1 i have a 1986 skeeter starfire- i can find my boat vin..

2 the engine on it is a mercury 115....electronic egnition -no distributor

i cant find any plate.

3 the only numbers i did find was on block below middle carb--971-7328..

and other side were the spark plugs is a number- 1023 5068..

guys any help at all to a complete noob would be greatfuly apreciated..'''

will any of these numbers help u to help me .....i dont know the year or anything to begin my task of familiarizing myself...

thank you guys.... ]

ask me anything to look for to help you in return....

daveswaves

Ensign
Re: a starting place to id a merc 115????

hi guys im new here, been reading for days......im stuck

i dont know were to begin to identify my engine..

1 i have a 1986 skeeter starfire- i can find my boat vin..

2 the engine on it is a mercury 115....electronic egnition -no distributor

i cant find any plate.

3 the only numbers i did find was on block below middle carb--971-7328..

and other side were the spark plugs is a number- 1023 5068..

guys any help at all to a complete noob would be greatfuly apreciated..'''

will any of these numbers help u to help me .....i dont know the year or anything to begin my task of familiarizing myself...

thank you guys.... ]

ask me anything to look for to help you in return....

The serial number is located on a plate riveted to the transom clamp, with that we can tell you the year. Since it does not have a distributor then it is 1979 or newer. If you have the integrated trim and tilt it is likely mid 80's.

skeeterFever

Cadet

thank you DAVESWAVES, im getting closer then......yes it has integrated tilt , trim......

its dark now, so tomorow i will search that thing all over for that id plate ...