A few things about boats I need to know. Electrics etc

Paddy_c

Cadet
Hi all I'm new to the forum and I'm paddy from Ireland believe it or not lol,

I'm also new to boats and I'm currently thinking of taking a boat on as a project.

The boat in question is an open boat (pioner 13) that I intend to turn into a little speed boat look a like as a project.

My questions are the following.

The engine that it has will be a 9.9hp pull start so I have no power in the boat to run things like gps speedo and maybe a car stereo with speakers.. What options have I to get power to the boat. I've looked at solar batter chargers but with it being the full source of power on constant use for speedo and stereo I'm not sure it would be able to be used like that.

I've also looked at small petrol generators but those use 6 litres if petrol (gas) for 6 hours and in Ireland the price of fuel is serious that would be nearly ?10 per six hours and that's near 20 dollars of your money so as you can see its not such a great idea.. Have I got other options I've missed?

Paddy_c

Cadet
Re: A few things about boats I need to know. Electrics etc

My other question is.. My boat is meant to be limited to 15hp max.. It's just a little plastic boat at the moment. But when I build it item it will be heavier of course so would it be safe to step over the 15hp max or is this a big safety issue.. Is there any way to make boats more safe for bigger hp by adding weight or am I being clueless. Bare in mind I'm complete novice to boats

Fireman431

Rear Admiral

Boat capacity plates are designed to inform the owner/operator of the safe limits that the boat was designed for. If you were to go 10% over the rated capacity of the plate, probably not a problem. But to go way above the limit would be a serious issue for you and anyone else with you. The limit is designated with the hull design, weight limits, transom strength, etc all factored in place. Imagine putting a 500 HP engine in a mini Cooper.