97 seadoo xp won't start

paulywog

Recruit
Hi I am very new to the sport and I bought a 97 seadoo xp about 2 months ago and it has been running awesome! But this weekend I put it in the water and tried to start it at first it was cranking and then it just stopped now it does not turn over at all but there is a black box where the engine is and I can here a click coming from there when the start button is pushed. could it be that i fried the starter relay? If anyone could help that would be awesome

kneedragger

Seaman
Re: 97 seadoo xp won't start

Your battery is dead.

Start with a freshly charged battery,or a new battery, and new set of spark plugs.

If your seadoo has been sitting for some time, and you have the traditional lead acid battery (like sold at Wal-Mart) for motorcycles, your should either replace it or charge it depending on its age.

paulywog

Recruit

I am Canadian not sure if you are but it is a battery from Canadian Tire. The only thing is when i put it on the charger it read a full charge and when i switched the charger to "start" it was the same result is it still possible that the battery is dead? And thank you for the quick reply I truly appreciate it!

Northern-Monkey

Recruit

It could be a number of things buddy! ive had the same problem.

The starter could be on its way out.
it could be the solenoid.

Do have you tryed the solenoid? try putting a screwdriver between the 2 Red wire in the electrical box. if the engine does not crank then that could be your problem

paulywog

Recruit

I have not triesd that I am new to this so I really have no idea where to start so I will try that. Now this may be a stupid question but there is a box at the fromt of the seadoo and i beleive one at the rear which box are you talkijng about? sorry for all the questions

Northern-Monkey

Recruit

Questions are good lol :)

Where the clicking is coming from that is classed as your rear box.