9.9 merc disconnect lower unit

Papa Joe

Cadet
How do you remove the shift rod from the lower unit to get to the impeller? I'm new to this. <br /><br />Feel like an idiot.

Bob H.

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 9.9 merc disconnect lower unit

Not familiar with that particular engine but if the shift linkage travels up leg to the powerhead look at the shifting linkage topside and disconnect at the powerhead. On most Mercs it only a short spline shaft (about 1-1/2" tall) that comes out of the lower unit. Depending on when the last time it was apart, you're bigger problem may be getting the drive shaft loose from the powerhead.

CF-DRG

Cadet