'89 Johnson 70 water pump questions

Lowranger

Petty Officer 2nd Class
J70TLCEM I've go my new pump(#0432955) and a factory service manual. The manual describes removing a 5/8" countersunk screw using a thin wall socket but does not provide a torque range for re-installation. Can anyone provide me with the correct value? Also, should the shift-rod be in neutral? The manual doesn't say. this is my first time replacing the waterpump and I am going to be working without a helper. How heavy is the lower-unit going to be? I've searched "lower unit removal" and "water pump" and read all the threads. It appears the most challenging hurdle for most folks is re-installing the L.U. and re-connecting the shift-rod. As I understand it, I need to ensure that the drive shaft engages into the crankshaft, the water tube into a copper feed-tube(w/o damaging it), and the shift-rod through a small opening in the pan. It sounds very awkward and I would appreciate any advice.

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner
Re: '89 Johnson 70 water pump questions

mmmm you got it on the reassembly. its awkward a bit but once ya do a few hundred its simple :) .<br /> on the pump I cant think of any 5/8ths screws other than the one holding the case to the mid-section just fwd of the trim tab and nost any socket will work on that one. if you buy the BRP kit it may have a few parts to change on the head/t-stat area. I cant remember when they changed the pump assy. but it will have instructions so its ok.

Lowranger

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Hi Rodbolt,
I cant think of any 5/8ths screws other than the one holding the case to the mid-section
That's the one. Can you suggest a torque value or shall I try and do it by feel? The manual doesn't say. As to the shift-rod, shall I put it in fwd, neu, or rev? Again, the factory manual doesn't say.

CJY

Lieutenant Junior Grade