-89 225/Trim works, stops and just Clicks...

D5GT

Cadet
Hello, I'm a newbie here, I'v read a lot trim/tilt topics... but no similar case found.<br /><br />When I push up/bown button t&t works fine, after half second to 10 seconds t&t dies. If I push the up/down button again t&t normally just "Clicks"<br /><br />After little while t&t works a bit again, and same pattern goes on.<br /><br />(looked/cleaned/tightened cables and replased both relays)

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: -89 225/Trim works, stops and just Clicks...

Trace PTT motor wires to connector and disconnect it. Apply small jumper wires from battery directly to PTT motor wires. If PTT motor operates, then obviously the elec motor is okay. Note that by reversing the battery wires at that connector, the elec motor will run in the opposite direction.<br /><br />If the elec motor is okay, remove, clean and reconnect all related PTT wiring at battery and wherever it may be. Connections may seem tight but may be dirty, and dirt does not conduct electricity.<br /><br />Let us know what you find.

D5GT

Cadet

That weird proplem.. tryed to clean all connectors (again) everything looks OK...<br /><br />T&T motor works fine with jumper cables.<br /><br />Is it possible that low battery voltage may cause these problems?<br /><br />First works fine, then have to wait couple seconds "for recovery" It's not obvious reason, because T&T works same way when engine runs.<br /><br />I think I have to change all cables, when i take boat to trailer.

Seasport

Chief Petty Officer

Sounds like something is getting hot and failing and then when it cools it's OK again. Could be your t&t switch maybe. Does it do this with both t&t switches?<br /><br />More likely to be on the high current side of the relays. Maybe a socket connection where the relays plug into. Check to see if anything is getting hot in this area.<br /><br />Just some thoughts.

Seasport

Chief Petty Officer