83 120hp mercruiserI/O bogging

SRT8

Cadet
OK I just spent over an hour reading the search results for this problem but can't find the answer to my ? so I will ask hear again . My motor is hesitating if I give it throttle fast and if I crack it WOT it will stall .This is what I have done already
-rebuild carb
-rebuild feul pump replaced filter
- all new fuel lines
-water seperator fiter replaced
-new plugs
-cleaned tank & fuel pick up

I rebuilt the carb and pump myself and it was the first time I did either but I am pretty sure I did it right .I am leaning towards a timing issue but I am no marine mechanic if I can't figure it out myself or through the forum I will take it in to have the marina that has worked on it since new .
hope you guys can help so I don't have to take it to the shop Thanks.

Fordiesel69

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: 83 120hp mercruiserI/O bogging

Just because you did all that does not mean its getting fuel correctly. Verify with an actual pressure guage.

Also your mechanical advance counterweights in your distributor could be gummed / rusted up from sitting all winter. I personally would check those, as well as the point gap.

SRT8

Cadet

well the boat sat for 4 years with out being run which is why I had to do all those things to get it running the distributor was replace but like I said it sat for 4 years I will check it out tomorrow can the counter weights be cleaned with contact cleaner ? I have to do the points gapping anyways just haven't tried it yet thanks I will also verify the fuel pressure do you know what it should be ?

45Auto

Commander