'77 Mercruiser MCM 140 won't fire

Tiger123245

Cadet
I bought a '77 Starcraft Capri 17 a few months back. It's got the MCM140 motor in it. Guy I bought it from said it ran fine last summer and he had the engine tuned-up just prior to winterization.

Darn thing won't start! I put a new battery and spark plugs in - wires and distributor looked new so didn't mess with them, and fresh gas. And just so ya'll know I am NOT a mechanic. I can do the basic stuff on my car (change oil, plugs, battery, etc.) - but you start talking about taking things apart and I need detailed instructions. :)

I put the muffs on and turn the key and the engine will crank over but not fire. I checked the plugs today after work they all spark fine - had my mom turning the key while I checked for spark and the motor actually started with one of them out - sounded like hell - but it ran for a minute anyway before dying. Kinda stumped on how to proceed from here.

Any advice I get before Mon. I'll give a shot otherwise I'm going to take it to the local boat/rv shop and probably pay out the nose for them to look it over.
Thanks in advance!!!

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner
Re: '77 Mercruiser MCM 140 won't fire

Exactly how are you trying to start it?
working the throttle once or twice first or just turning the key?
Choke working correctly?

cannonford57

Petty Officer 1st Class

3 things you must have for the blessed gods of internal combustion will come visit are fire,fuel,compression...u have fire so with the engine spinning spray a bit of carburator cleaner (or wd40)if its all u have in the carb...if it starts u have a fuel delivery issue...needle and seat stuck....if not go back to #1,fire.maybe a set of points installen and properly set will bring u to life

IVAZ

Master Chief Petty Officer

Have you dealt with a carbureted engine before?