74 v4 115hp no fire on #2 cyl

starflite115

Cadet
i have replaced the #2 coil and the power pack and still no fire. i dont know where the coil gets its signal to fire from so i dont really know what to check for. any ideas or help will be greatly appreciated. thanks, justin

mikeyzx2

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 74 v4 115hp no fire on #2 cyl

is the coil not grounded or maybe not getting a good ground? the coil get it's signal from the powerpack, like a distributor, and the powerpack get's it's signals from the armature plate under flywheel via sensor coil and charge coil

mikeyzx2

Chief Petty Officer

you may have a broken or damaged wire elsewhere that may be grounding to the engine and thus losing that particular signal to fire #2 coil

starflite115

Cadet

would it be correct to say if the armature plate or sensor coils or charge coils were bad there would be no fire to any cylinder as opposed to a single cylinder? what are the sensor coils and charge coils exactly? im new to the marine engine scene so im not sure of the components just yet. thanks again

R.Johnson

Rear Admiral

The charge coils would effect all cylinders, A bad sensor would effect 2 cylinders, 1 & 3, or 2 & 4. The charge coils send primary voltage to the pak, which is sent on to the primary side of the coil. The sensors' trigger the pack to send the voltage to the proper coil. If you have replaced the pack, and coil, do what has already been suggested, check wiring, and ground to the coil. Try this! hook the wire going to #4 coil from the pack, to #2 coil, and see if you now have spark. If you don't, there is something wrong with #2 coil. If you do, you could have a faulty pack. Also make sure the pack is well grounded.

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner