72 Evinrude 25hp water pump

GreatRiverDucker

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi all! So I just took my water pump apart to replace the impeller and there was no key to hold it in place. There was what looked like a sheared pin from the drive shaft but I'm not sure. If this is the case, how do I remove the sheared off piece from the shaft? Also there was what appeared to be the remnants of an old gasket between the l/u and the lower plate of the pump, but there wasn't much left. Does this gasket come with the kit I just ordered? Any and all help is greatly appreciated - I'm kinda new to this stuff.:)

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 72 Evinrude 25hp water pump

Welcome to IBoats. You impeller should of come with a new key to fit your shaft. You will need OMC adhesive to seal the groove in impeller housing, and to the bottom edge of impeller plate. Oil the impeller blades. Dip the impeller housing screws in gasket sealing compound. Might need a new grommet for on top of the impeller housing. If you dont have a manual and need more help someone will help you out more GL

GreatRiverDucker

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Thanks HighTrim! Where can I find OMC adhesive and sealing compound, does it have to be a dealer? I have a Seloc manual, but I'm finding specifics for my motor lacking. Just so I'm clear, theres no gasket, I just use adhesive?
Thanks

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

Im not 100 percent about your motor, you may get an o ring for the impeller housing to impeller plate, did it have one when you took it apart? I just use gasket sealing compound beneath the impeller plate, around the bottome of the impeller housing, on the screws, especially if you're in salt water, and i also put some on the lower unit when i bolt it back up, but ive been told thats not necessary. Dont forget to grease your drive shaft gears before sliding it back in. Did you find that impeller key, that s very important. Rotate the driveshaft clockwise while lowering the impeller housing over the impeller.