71 60 HP Johnson no neutral

kenk

Cadet
I'm a newbie on boat engines but recently purchased a boat. I have a Johnson 1971 60HP with Hydro-electric shifter. The problem I'm having is with neutral. When starting up my motor dry or in water the prop is turning with the shift selector in the neutral position. When I shift into forward it works fine when I shift to neutral or Reverse there is only forward. The only thing that I can see when I take apart the shifter is that the roller ball that follows the shifter is not springing into the notch in the bottom of the shift lever. There is electrical current running to that mechanism but it doesn't move. Any suggestion for fixing this kind of problem. I could post pictures if needed.

Hooty

Rear Admiral
Re: 71 60 HP Johnson no neutral