707HF Chrysler (73' 70hp) question on electronics

nathanhooper

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have a rather generic question. Can anyone take me through the electronic sequence of this particular motor. What are all the functions of the different parts and how they work together? I think I have a basic grasp of it, but maybe someone knows this like the back of their hand and could put it into simple terms to understand. I am an electrician/IT tech by trade, but that does not make me a mechanic. I know the theory, not the function. But this I do know, that when your trouble shooting something it is best if you understand the basic operation of the equipment and how it works together.

So, if when I get my motor back together and it does not spark or does so erratically or something like that then I can start to diagnose and not just take wild stabs in the dark. Although I know that the helpful people on here can just about diagnose any problem eventually. If there is a thread that already discussed this point me to it because I did not find it. Thanks!!

I have detailed pictures of all the different electrical parts, so if there is a part that you are not sure what type I have just ask and I will post a picture. This I know; I have a stator with only two wires. Magnapower Ignition by Motorola. Solid state voltage regulator. Distributor. Coil. Capacitor. Breaker. I think that covers it all. Oh, I know this is a very bold and potentially overwhelming question, but can someone post how to troubleshoot/test each part? I went to CDIelectroncs web site, but like on the stator, they just say to send it in and they will repair then send back. I did not find any other info on it. I do have a wiring diagram for this motor that came in my manual.

Thanks again guys, I know that this could be helpful to others in the future.

nathanhooper

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 707HF Chrysler (73' 70hp) question on electronics