7.4L - Putting it back together!

laserbrn

Petty Officer 1st Class
I am a COMPLETE noob when it comes to I/O's and I have one that needed a bit of work. The previous owner ran it on some really old, nasty bad gas and the intake valves became stuck. He tried to start it repeateadly and it got jacked up. The intake valves were stuck due to the varnish and so all of the intake pushrods were bent/broken.

I tore the the top end down and took the intake manifold and heads to a machine shop. They cleaned up the intake manifold for me and did a complete valve job on the heads.

I am now wanting to put it all back together and I have a couple of questions about the cooling system and what parts need to be "marine" parts.

Cooling....

This engine is in my skipjack and it doesn't appear to work the way that I expected it to. The exhaust exits out through-hull instead of out through the outdrive which I guess is fairly common. The raw water intake looks like it is connected through a filter or seperator of some kind (I assume to filter clams and other saltwater bourne life that would gum everything up over time. There is a hose coming off of what looks like a raw water pump connected to the crank that connects to this filter, and then to the through-hull. In this configuration does the boat NEED to be submerged in the water to run the engine? I am not pumping raw water through the engine, I have a fresh water cooler that is connected to this.

I tore it all apart in a bit of a frenzy, but I still don't quite understand how and where the raw water goes. The freshwater is obviously pretty straightforward, but does the raw water eventually exit through the exhaust?

Replacement parts...what needs to be "marine"? I've already replaced the distributor cap/rotor with marine cap/rotor and wires.

I am also looking at replacing...

All hoses
Starter
Alternator
Belt(s)