'63 Merc 1000 - Where to start?

DallasJeff

Seaman
Friend of mine got a free '63 Merc 1000 that supposedly ran when it was parked 5 years ago. But the boat/motor has changed hands twice from the original owner so true condition is unknown.

We built a motor stand and will start working on it next week. Here's kinda what I think:
1. Remove the plugs and see if we can turn the flywheel
2. Test compression on each cylinder (inline-6). what pressure is expected?
3. Test for spark on each plug

Assuming these tests all go well

4. Clean carb and put in a carb kit
5. Replace water impeller

Then try to start it up.

Sound like a good procedure? I'm a novice Johnson/Rude repairman ('54 10HP, '67 33HP), never worked on a Mercury or any motor this size.

Mi duckdown

Commander
Re: '63 Merc 1000 - Where to start?

Good plan. More people should have that plan.
not sure of the compression( manual at cottage).
An OEM MERC MANUAL won't hurt either
Good luck. I'm sure your compression numbers will be comming soon from someone.
Serial number is a must, when working on Mercs

DallasJeff

Seaman

Thank you duckdown, we have serial number and traced it to a '63 Merc 1000 despite the cowling that says 70HP. I found a manual for 6-cylinder models starting with '65. We'll use that as a guide unless I find something better and free.

This will be my official '63 Merc 1000 repair thread. Will post pictures, info and updates starting with compression.

We're novice boat motor repairmen so any comments, questions or advice is very welcome. Maybe this thread will help someone else with a similar motor.

Bamaman1

Lieutenant Commander