57 evinrude won't run

dsk

Cadet
i have a 57 evinrude twinsport 10, wont stay running. changed the plugs that were in their from champion j-6j to champion 832 / j6c is the gap still 30 and this the right plug? :confused:

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 57 evinrude won't run

Yes, DSK, the gap is still .030.<br /><br />Can you give us a little more info on how your engine is behaving and what you have checked?<br /><br /> :)

dsk

Cadet

i'm new with this kind of motors. it kicks over after 10 pulls or so and runs for a couple of sec then dies. motor was sitting for two years and my uncle said it was runing fine then. i don't see any ajustments screws on the carb. their is a box on top of carb that has two tunnels angleing inside of box . i thought it was a air filter but its not. is their points or somthing like that?

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Howdy, DSK.<br /><br />Your engine acts as though it isn't getting enough fuel. If it has been sitting for two years it may have varnish in the carburetor.<br />It is also possible that fuel is not getting to your carb.<br /><br />Check the fuel lines carefully for leaks. Check that you primer really pumps the carb full of fuel.<br /><br />Put some premixed fuel in a spray bottle and spray it into the carb before you try to start it. If it fires right up, runs for a short time and quits, you have a carb gummed up.<br /><br />Try those things and get back to us. :)

alcan

Commander