4 stroke to 2 stroke differences

Trevor9751

Cadet
I just bought a new four stroke merc 115 HP I am kind of new to the four stroke outboard thing I checked the wieghts and it is only 20lbs heavier than the 115 2 stroke they say it burns cleaner and uses less fuel I have been looking for tourque specs on them but cannot find any I would assume that since they are rated on HP and that is the same you could expect significantly more tourque out of the 4 stroke but cannot find any #'s to support this or dispute it and what other differences should I expect to see with my new motor compared to a normal 2 stroke. I am upgrading from a 1995 120 force so I know this will be a step up no matter what but I am just wondering how much.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: 4 stroke to 2 stroke differences

I'm not a 4 stroke expert or fan but they do have their good points.
It will certainly be smoother and quieter.And compared to the Force the low end power may be a little less as you are 5 hp down and 4 strokes are not known for the best hole shot.It may be a little tougher to prop right.It will use less gas.It will surely burn much cleaner than the Force even allowing for the 2 strokes fuel mix.It will require more routine maintainance.

rob711

Petty Officer 1st Class

i have a 2005 115hp merc 4 stroke on my 18 ft trophy walkaround....this is my first season with it and so far absoluly no complaints...it will pull skiers up no problem...as far a maintanence...changing the oil seems simple, havent done it yet but i have a manual and it seems simple and straight forward...and inspecting the timming belt is really not much of a chore as well...i do miss that sweet smell of 2 stoke oil though!! like most things with some proper maintanence i think it will last a while

Cricket Too

Lieutenant Commander

You will see a big difference from that Force, but in general 4 strokes provide less torque that 2 strokes, simply because of excatly what they are called.