4.3 vs 5.7 vs 7.4 ???'s

Stud man

Cadet
Ok newbie here ...
I am looking to buy our first boat and besides a million other questions I have one about motors.
My 2 main concerns are power and fuel. I would like to know I have enough HP for when I need it but would like to be able to save on fuel most of the time
We really just plan on putting around, hanging at the dock , swim, fish and possably pull a tube or skier. you know boating, not really trying to get any where in a hurry:rolleyes:

The 3 boats in question are...

1990 Sea Ray 280DA with 2- 4.3 LX engines (6 cyl /205 hp) Forgot to ask about the outdrive but will assume they are Bravo 1's
1995 Sea Ray 270DA with a 7.4 and a Bravo 2 outdrive
1998 Four Winns 258 Vista with a 5.7 Volvo Penta MPI ( 280hp) and a Penta outdrive with duel SS prop
All have under 400 hrs and have been yard mantained and are in the same price range.
I have been told the 4.3 's are like 6-8 gph and the others in the 13-15 gph range, is this true?
Will the 4.3's be enough for a tube or skier? and "get out of the hole"

Now i know this ALL depends on a number of factors, ie, RPM's, weather, weight, sea condsion's (sp) but some kind of idea would be nice.

Being it's just about winter and many are looking to get rid of their boats = high inventory and lower prices.
I figured to maybe take advantage now instead of waitng for spring

ANY OTHER info you could provide about the Boats, ie models, motors, things to look out for ( without going to far off topic) known issues would be greatful.
Thanks all
Studman

Oh I will be looking at these boats this weekend and we will be boating / docking in Long Island Sound off the coast of CT come spring

TilliamWe

Banned
Re: 4.3 vs 5.7 vs 7.4 ???'s

1990 Sea Ray 280DA with 2- 4.3 LX engines (6 cyl /205 hp) Forgot to ask about the outdrive but will assume they are Bravo 1's