4.3 stalls at 3800 rpm's, will start right back up but stalls everytime at 3800 rpms.

Air Traffic

Seaman Apprentice
I am relatively new to boating and last year purchased a 1989 Thompson Daytona 270 with twin 4.3 mercruisers/alpha ones. Boat has had very little use with only 350 hours on each engine. Before starting out last year I had the impellers changed, lower units serviced and put fuel/water separators on each engine since they didn't have ANY filters installed. Yesterday we went for about a 30 mile run in Lake Huron, the boat ran great the first 29 miles then after slowing down to look at something I accelerated to get back on plane and the port engine stalled at 3800rpm,s. Brought the boat back down, and it started up without issue only to do the same thing 3 more times. Limped back into the marina at low rpm's. Could it need a new filter already, probably only 30-40 hours on it? Also the filter is located on the bulkhead apparently lower than the tank, with the fuel pump lower yet on the engine. Will I need to pinch the fuel line to change this since it doesn't have a shut off valve? Any other thoughts? Like I said, I am relatively new to boating and could use some ideas.

sptjet90Reflexx

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 4.3 stalls at 3800 rpm's, will start right back up but stalls everytime at 3800 r

this is almost exactly what happened to my 89 4.3L yesterday out on the water. It was the first time the boat saw water in probably 5 years minimal. She started up great and up to WOT and ran great, problems started after I went down to idle and then tried to go back to WOT. She would stall out.

My post everyone is saying check the fuel filter but as you describe it appears to be no filter right? solid metal line going from the carb to the pump?

Apparently the filter is tiny and is located in-between the large nut and fuel line on the CARB itself. Im going to be checking mine later today but i bet its pretty gunked up.

Air Traffic

Seaman Apprentice