3rd time out hunting

mikeandronda

Lieutenant Commander
K, Im new to hunting and I have only been bow hunting twice before this morning. Last week my buddie stuck a 8 pointer about 75-100 yrds away from my stand but had not seen one deer this year close up. This morning I get to go into the stand that a couple different guys have taken deer from and everyone of them have seen deer there. We are hunting a plot of land thats just outside the city limits and the deer are thick. This morning I have one come up on me before its really light and our deal with eachother is not to shoot unless you would bet your buddies life that its a deer. So I sit and watch this shadow about 20-25 yrds from me for about 15 mins and it slowly backs up and gos the way it came from......wind was blowing in that direction Im guessin he got a wiff of me :) I sit for another two hours and nothing but squirils and lots of them.......I begin to wonder what the heck is wrong with me......I know 3 guys who have seen or taken deer from this stand.......one last night.........I figure maybe they ruined the spot or I really am stinky or im just unlucky and about 8:29 I really am kinda wondering......kinda thinking about my kids , my wife, why the sky is blue and how much I hate those flippin tree rats. Im thinking that my buddie should be along any time cuz we figured about nine we would leave the woods. I look down about 15 yrds from me and there are two deer. One huge doe and a smaller one. I never heard them or saw them untill they were that close. Now some guys dont get to excited bout' a doe, but my heart just go's wild. I have seen many deer up close but she looked as big as horse to me. I was a little cold and shivering just a little bit before I seen them but now I was afraid I was gonna shake my self out of that tree. They were coming at me straight on so I slowly brought up my bow, and she( the big one) looked up at me. I froze and she went back to rooting around the ground. I continued to