23’ Harris pontoon w/ 135 plowing in back

DaRedNek

Cadet
I just bought a 23’ Harris 230 royal heritage with a Honda 135 4 stroke. No lifting strakes. It plows terrible in the rear. The back deck rail is almost at water level. It runs about 23mph with 2 people. I found a 17’ toon that is the same diameter for $800 on Marketplace. That should cover the area in front of the motor pod. I was thinking of underskinning and throwing this third toon on it at the same time. I’m not looking to go 40mph, it just seems it should be up out of the water a little more than it is. Does this sound like a solid plan? I’m no pontoon expert. I’ve ran center consoles for years and this is my first toon since I was a kid. What say you experts?

Attachments

• 37D43DDB-A71F-4F80-A788-52AB7EF1D0F9.jpeg
    37D43DDB-A71F-4F80-A788-52AB7EF1D0F9.jpeg
    5.2 MB · Views: 10

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
what is the capacity tag say for the motor rating? you may have too big a motor on the back of the boat.

are the logs water-logged?

what diameter toon logs?

DaRedNek

Cadet
what is the capacity tag say for the motor rating? you may have too big a motor on the back of the boat.

what diameter toon logs?
Not 100% on the tag because it’s at the lake, but the specs I pulled up online say 130, unless it’s a certain model then higher.

25” diameter toons

excuse my ignorance, but what does water logged logs mean?

DaRedNek

Cadet

what diameter toon logs?
The specs

Attachments

• ADD0569C-72A4-48A8-B902-F5C0430E28C1.jpeg
    ADD0569C-72A4-48A8-B902-F5C0430E28C1.jpeg
    291.9 KB · Views: 10

DaRedNek

Cadet
I have no idea if they have drain plugs or not. I will have to check though.

HotTommy

Lieutenant Junior Grade