2005 Volvo Penta 4.3GL Overheating

bl_kamaji

Cadet
The issue : (2005 manufacturer date) Volvo Penta 4.3GL started overheating a couple hours into our day on the river.

Story : Engine overheated about 2 hours into our poker run on the Ohio river. Let the boat cool down to about 130°F before starting again. Tried to make it back to the ramp using low speed, engine quickly heated up to 200°F. Shut off and got towed in. We did stop at a couple sand beaches where we used a T bar to secure the boat. Trim was always fully up. Not sure if we sucked in sand or not.

What I've done so far : 1. Visually checked intake screens on sterndrive for blockage. 2. Checked the impeller and thermostat, both which were in seemingly working order. The thermostat was cruddy looking so I will go ahead and replace it. Click this link for photos. https://drive.google.com/folderview?...B65QG7XlkcuJaM

I'm a new boat owner and complete novice. Looking for advice on what the next steps should be? (Please, no sarcastic answers). Can provide pictures and videos as needed.

Last edited:

tpenfield

Staff member
:welcome: to iBoats . . .

Not a Volvo-Penta expert, but check the intake hoses leading all the way up to the thermostat housing to see if there are any oil coolers along the way. Often marine life gets stuck in the coolers, blocking the flow of water to the engine.

The thermostat housing looks like there is a fair amount of rust/corrosion build-up in some of the passages. Clean that out as well.

Lou C

Supreme Mariner
Who worked on the thermostat last? Looks like someone tried to install the stat like an auto stat, was it retained in the stat housing by the rubber ring? Could not tell from photos. If the manifolds and elbows have as much corrosion as the thermostat housing they could be getting clogged.

bl_kamaji

Cadet