200 Evinrude wont start

glen357

Cadet
Hey, <br />What a great site. I need some of this kind of help with my sons motor. I am a retired mechanic (busness machines). I have the time so what I cannot fix I get to bring to the repair shop. We are having trouble getting it started after it has sit up a while. Once its started runs great. start first time just bump the starter and off we go. But when it sets up for a week or so. No, it just spins and spins. Finaly it seems to start firing but seem flooded from not starting when it should have. It sputters and stops the starter over and over, let it set a while finaly it will start. Then it smokes like hell(like it has been flooded). Boat mechanic said it maybe choke not opening when you push the choke in. We checked that not it. Out mechanic seems to be good but this one has stumped him and he hates to see me comming. Already we have changed fuel pump, stator, power pac, carb jets. And had to rebuild starter because it is so hard to start. We bring it to the shop and it runs great. Can any of you guys shead any light on this problem. My son has given up. He cannot trust it. And is looking at new motors. He has put so much money in this one already. I hate to Give up. Its probably something simple that we have overlooked.Its a 200hp evinrude Venom 1993. Thanks, G

Cricket Too

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 200 Evinrude wont start