1999 Force 75HP Fuel Question

spotco2

Cadet
I am new to outboard engines but have been an automotive mechanic for many years. I am also rather new to boating with anything more than a Jon boat so please bear with me.

I recently purchased a 1990 Bass Tracker Pro 17 that someone had replaced the original engine with a Mercury Force 75 HP with a May 1999 date code sticker on the head. The engine still appears to be like new and I can not find any wrench marks anywhere on the bolts or nuts on the engine.

I am afraid that someone has let it set though and that might be causing my issue.

The 6 gallon portable fuel tank was plumbed into the system without a quick connect when I got the boat. The priming bulb was also showing some signs of dry rot. The oil tank was also bypassed when the engine was replaced so I have been mixing oil directly with premium gas and adding Marine Sta-Bil and Seafoam to each tank. I replaced the bulb with an ATWOOD and added a quick connect to the tank and hose end.

When you slowly pumped the bulb the fuel filter will fill with fuel and the engine will start right up and idle fine. After a minute to warm up it throttles up fine but sounds like it has a slight miss to it. I replaced the plugs but the miss is still there.

After the engine has ran for a few minutes the plastic fuel filter looks like it is going dry but the engine continues to run if throttled up. If left at idle sometimes it will die but start back up after pumping the bulb a few times or just spinning the engine over for 30 seconds or so. The filter is empty though when this happens.