1997 Kawasaki 750 STS running hot......help!

Goodvalue

Cadet
Hello and thanks for looking at my problem.
I'm an experienced car builder but this is my first Waverunner.
I just got this 97 STS. It had not been run in over a year and the gas tank was nearly empty but the oil tank was about 3/4 full. I put about 4 gal premium in it.
Took it out for a test run. She started right up and then stalled 3 times while I played on the learning curve. Finally warmed up and I was able to open the choke fully. I ran it for about 5 minutes at moderate throttle and then it began hissing steam out the starboard side water outlet when I backed off on the throttle. Under acceleration the water seemed to flow fine from the outlet but not at idle......steam. The temperature light came on so I immediately headed for the dock and took it home.
At home I attached a hose to the flush system and turned on the water. It runs water just fine out the starboard port, exhaust and the impeller discharge. Knowing engines, I know overheating could be caused by any number of mechanical problems but since I have no experience with Waverunners, I was wondering if the problem was something I did or didn't do?
Any suggestions?
BTW, I have not purchased a manual yet.
Thanks for responding - Roy

bently

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1997 Kawasaki 750 STS running hot......help!

sounds like there maybe some blockage in the cooling hoses and possibly sand in the water passages thru the engin. You should start with the hoses at the pump and work towards the engine, then disassembly the exhaust to the manifold. Once all that is checked out, look a the water passages in the exhaust manifold for sand deposits and they will settle in the bottom and slow or clog the water flow.

keith2k455

Chief Petty Officer

On my '98 STX, there are 2 pick ups on the bottom of the boat for cooling water intake...they're supposed to be cleaned yearly, I would start there. They aren't the easiest to get to on my STX

Goodvalue