1993 Mercury Alpha 1 Outdrive / dissembly question

metwrench

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Im working on my Buddys Boat, 1994 Mercury Alpha with a 3.0 Ltr.<br /><br />Im seeing small amounts of Outdrive oil staining my floor and it looks like its coming out the raw water Intakes. The resivior was also Low when it came in. The boat see's Salt water and fresh water all summer.<br /><br />How hard is it to Pull this outdrive apart ? I realize I must take it off the stern and then dissasemble. I have never done a Mercury Aplha before ( many omc's ) Is there any Seals, Gaskets, or boots I should look at more than others ? any suggestions welcome.<br /><br />Thanks

imported_Mike_M2

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1993 Mercury Alpha 1 Outdrive / dissembly question

Check upper driveshaft seal, the seal where oil runs from upper to lower, shifter seals(probable problem), seal below water pump. All can be checked without removing the entire drive, just the lower unit.

qystan

Petty Officer 1st Class