1993 Grew Mercruiser 888

Wabasto

Recruit
Hello everyone. Our family has inherited an old Grew 215 with a Mercruiser888. The boat was hardly used when bought new. its been in a terrible storage area ( barn) since 1980. We towed it home several years ago and built a fairly good frame over it and several tarps. My father in-law (owner) discovered about 15 years ago that raccoons had gotten into the boat and completely destroyed the interior. No family members had any interest in it but we didn’t know what we could do with the old classic.
This past August it was decided by everyone that I should try to get it running and see what she needed to maybe put her back in service. The outlook was not very good.
I have actually spent way too much time on her but family thinks it’s going to be wort it? I want to show you all what I have had to deal with.
Btw. I am a automotive mechanic and heavy equipment mechanic. I have owned a few boats myself and I was out in this Grew in the summer of 1980. What a shame this happened. The fat in law took the fuel tank out and said it was leaking and I don’t think he had any intention of ever using this boat again??? He complained the boat was too hard on fuel (he would never get it up on plane lol). I said to put the hammer down and pull it back after she gets out of the water. Needless to say I never went out with him again. He also didn’t like the way it went into reverse. Said it makes funny noises in reverse when he cranked the steering to the end of the travel. It’s like he was looking for a reason to condemn her. Blah blah blah. Sorry for the long blurb.

Attachments

• F8A32DB5-F756-4322-8B5C-12C1D23DB77F.jpeg
    F8A32DB5-F756-4322-8B5C-12C1D23DB77F.jpeg
    3.7 MB · Views: 18
  • 132F0DA4-DFFF-47EC-B2CA-E42CF2A7B43A.jpeg
    132F0DA4-DFFF-47EC-B2CA-E42CF2A7B43A.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 17
  • 19B6BC84-DEA0-4C47-84D1-2614DE7118DE.jpeg
    19B6BC84-DEA0-4C47-84D1-2614DE7118DE.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 17